Serious Hike: Sunset Peak on Lantau Island (Mui Wo/Pui O to Pak Kung Au)

Lantau Trail Section 2

Distance: 6.5-7km

Time: 5 hours (other sites say 2.75 hours but no way was this possible at such a difficulty level)

Difficulty: Very Difficult. Uphill all the way, and then a steep descent in the end.

Screen shot 2014-01-18 at 10.22.28 PM

The difficult, arduous, but rewarding journey to Sunset Peak (Tai Tung Shan 大東山) on Lantau Island, Hong Kong. (Note than when I say words like difficult and arduous, it’s coming from someone who’s really not used to physical exertion of any sort).

01

Before you do this, let me tell you now: bring food and water. This hike leads you literally to the mountain in the middle of nowhere – the third highest peak in Hong Kong – and it would have been so much less painful for us (or me at least) if we had broken our hike into parts with picnics in between. It would also probably be better to do it when it isn’t so cold and windy, because at the top of the mountain I could hardly appreciate the view as I was freezing my ass off. Or maybe I wasn’t appropriately dressed.

  1. Start at: Mui Wo. Take the Ferry from Central and then cab it to the entrance of the Lantau Country Parks:ImageTell the driver to head to Pui O and then get off when you see the entrance to your right. Or you can take the bus to Pui O, and get off then you see the sign. IMG_1648
  2. Get on Lantau Trail Section 2 and go up, up, up! IMG_1652IMG_1650
  3. Follow the signs to Sunset PeakIMG_1693
  4. Follow the signs to Pak Kung Au
  5. Get on whatever bus you can (some go to Tung Chung Town Centre, or you can go the other direction to I think Discovery Bay. Or if you want to continue hiking, you can carry on from Pak Kung Au to Nong Ping Village (Big Buddha) via Lantau Peak. Good luck.)

Happy trekking!

x

22 thoughts on “Serious Hike: Sunset Peak on Lantau Island (Mui Wo/Pui O to Pak Kung Au)

  1. pflead73 says:

    I was near the Big Buddha just two days back. The place is so peaceful and the view so beautiful 🙂
    I didn’t hike btw since we were short of time and took a cable car instead.

    Like

  2. Drew says:

    Is it possible to go on a hike then Disneyland after? I just have 2 days in HK and I’m thinking Disneyland, Sunset Peak and Po Lo Shan. What do you think?

    Like

  3. Alyssa says:

    I wish I had read your article before deciding to hike sections 1-3 today based on another blogger’s site telling me it was 3.5-4.5 hours for all three sections. NO WAY! Took us 7 hours (due to taking an hours worth of photos) but I agree all other sites grossly understate the time. By the end, I was running down to Big Buddha because the sun was setting and we worried about the darkness. I wish I had read your article first!

    Like

Leave a comment