Dutch Path: Short and easy “hike” or nature walk in Central/Mid-Levels

Distance: 1.8km (but you can carry on towards other paths/trails if you want)

5

I bet you haven’t heard of it. Well, at least I didn’t until last weekend when I decided I wanted to go for a walk but wanted nothing too long. Nowadays Hong Kong is too hot for anything strenuous. Still I wanted to get out of the city even just for half an hour, without having to take public transportation.

So what did I do? Go on Google Maps and found this:

IMG_5553

I didn’t know what it was neither have I ever heard of it before. But it was near and I was running out of sunlight. So I made for it. We took the shortcut through the Hong Kong Zoological & Botanical Gardens (NOT Hong Kong Park) and found some very cute and active LEMURS (King Julien in Madagascar!!!) which are so fun to watch and definitely worth checking out btw.

The ring-tailed lemur is highly social, living in groups of up to 30 individuals.

Ring-tailed lemurs are also female dominant, a trait common among lemurs. To keep warm and reaffirm social bonds, groups will huddle together. The ring-tailed lemur will also sunbathe, sitting upright facing its underside, with its thinner white fur towards the sun. 

Cute, cuddly, agile, and female-dominant? Love them already. My question is: Why did Walt Disney make a King Julien instead of a Queen Julien?!

Anyway, back on track. so we walked up Magazine Gap Road and tried to find this mysterious Path. It was really short (but branched out towards other paths, including the famous Bowen Road). Actually, the Dutch Path is like a wilder, overgrown Bowen Road with better views since it’s higher up.

IMG_5556

IMG_5558Try not to wear short shorts like I did though because I ended up getting scratched and bitten.

IMG_5562

we found this sign and rejoiced at the verification that we were going in the right direction

IMG_5560

IMG_5569

first time I used these newly-purchased Asics babies (London) in Hong Kong! Goodbye shitty Nike trainers that gave me shin splints!!

IMG_5574

Shortcut to Bowen Road anyone? Just slide down with your hand on the rope

IMG_5578

Hopewell Centre from Dutch Path

IMG_5563

Why is it called Dutch Path: “for many years Dutch people used to walk from residential properties owned by a Dutch shipping line at Peak Road along this path to Wan Chai Gap and on to their offices.” -Gwulo.com

IMG_5572

It was absolutely deserted. Did not encounter a single other soul on the path.

IMG_5577 IMG_5575 IMG_5571 IMG_5568 IMG_5566

Aaand that’s it! Thought I’d share 🙂

2 thoughts on “Dutch Path: Short and easy “hike” or nature walk in Central/Mid-Levels

Leave a comment