Po Toi Island: Hong Kong’s version of the Adriatic Coast

One February morning, I discovered Hong Kong’s most beautiful island…

It’s been a while (half a year, to be exact) since that perfect day I spent on Po Toi Island, Hong Kong’s southernmost point. It took me something like six years to get there, because there are such sparse transportation options to be had. But finally, on a warm and sunny ‘winter’ day, I was finally able to wake up early enough to catch the 10am boat from Stanley’s Blake Pier.

On the morning boat to Po Toi

Before I get into the details, I want to preface with my impressions of that stunning island. I had seen photos, and am used to Hong Kong’s natural beauty, but I was still surprised by how breathtaking the geography was. I was reminded of Croatia, on Europe’s Adriatic Sea, sans the crystal clear water!

#mood 💧

A post shared by Julienne R (@morenatravels) on

I was reminded of Croatia, on Europe’s Adriatic Sea

Where exactly is Po Toi Island?

po toi map

Map view of the “South Pole of Hong Kong” – Po Toi Island

Hiking route

From the public pier, we took a loop 8 around the island, starting with the southern circuit – taking our time – and then powering through the northern circle because we wanted to see everything.

po toi hike map

Discover Hong Kong’s website – which I used for reference – recommends a shorter route cutting through the middle path. However, you would be missing the Tin Hau Temple, Tai Wan beach, and handful of restaurants and seaweed shops lining the coast.

If you want to do what I did, take both Route 1 and 2 🙂

Total distance: 5.9km

Difficulty: Easy!

Duration: It really depends on your pace, but since our only boat option was at 3pm that day, we took our time from 10am-3pm to explore, lie down on the rocks, take photos, eat etc. 🙂

Po Toi’s Tin Hau Temple facing the sea

What you would miss on the shorter route

When to go

On a sunny day, of course. I prefer hiking when it’s not too hot, so February was perfect. Summer would be great if you want to swim 🙂


They have a few of these signposts in English, one you get on the proper trail


Buddha’s Palm Cliff: one of Po Toi’s must-see sights

img_9146


There could not have been a more perfect hike that day, I couldn’t have been any happier

Getting there

The ferries or kaitos to and from Po Toi are few and far between – but that also means less crowds! 100% worth it.

Click here for the schedule.

I believe we went on a Sunday/Public Holiday, when there are more rides from Stanley’s Blake Pier. I also chose to depart from Stanley rather than Aberdeen because I’m familiar with Stanley Plaza – it’s well connected via public transportation.

It’s around 30 mins one way from Stanley, and 1 hour from Aberdeen

Aboard the kaito from Blake Pier. Excited!!

Getting around

It’s really up to you how you want to tackle the routes. We decided to start with the path that had the least people on it.

Helpful board outlining routes and points of interest


One of the first signs we saw – we were discouraged thinking that everything would be written in Chinese. Thankfully that wasn’t the case.

img_9158

On the way to see the 3,000-year-old rock carvings in Nam Tum’s cliffs


It looks ideal for swimming. Unfortunately the island has a garbage disposal problem – so many campers and yet no waste system? I really hope they sorted that out, or that that day was just a particularly busy day and it was all cleaned up afterwards

View from the Nam Kok Tsui lighthouse and Gold Panning Cliff

This would have to be one of those days of my life that I would love to go back to 🙂

Going back to that day has just made my day infinitely better. I hope you have as wonderful a time as I did 🙂

julienne

Leave a Reply

