Hiking Lamma Island: Hong Kong Staycation, Secret Beaches

On my first weekend in Hong Kong 2017, I decided to conquer Lamma Island.

fullsizeoutput_2510

Starting early with the New Year’s Resolutions

The walk between the two ferry piers (Yung Shue Wan and Sok Kwu Wan) is a well-trodden path, but I haven’t done the Family Trail in its entirety. So I thought I would make it my goal that weekend.

The total Lamma Island Family Trail is an easy to medium walk of around 14.6 kilometres. This is what I did in two separate parts over Saturday and Sunday:

screen-shot-2017-01-24-at-1-49-29-pm

Map: Lamma Island Family Walk

Sok Kwu Wan Leg: Ling Kok Shan and/or Secret Beaches

7km, 1-2 hours, Easy/Medium

The Sok Kwu Wan leg of the trail is definitely the prettier hike, with the option of climbing Ling Kok Shan, a 250 metre high hill with good views of the sea and Ocean Park / Aberdeen / Ap Lei Chau across to Hong Kong Island.

Here are two potential itineraries for the Sok Kwu Wan leg. You can choose to go over Ling Kok Shan, or circle the hill below through Yung Shue Ha Beach and other seaside locales. I did Option 1.

However, since we didn’t do Option 2, we missed out on Mo Tat Wan (模達灣) and Shek Pai Wan — the largest beach on Lamma Island. So you’d better be sure I’ll be back for those off-the-beaten-track Hong Kong beaches, if only to check them out because I’m curious like that.

fullsizeoutput_253b

The helpful information board on Yung Shue Wan Pier highlights the Sok Kwu Wan section of the trail in pink.

Below is the starting point of the trail we took from Sok Kwu Wan. As you can see, signage needs a bit of updating. They’re derelict all throughout, just like that. With some posts you can hardly make out the words.

Of course you can do both Option 1 and 2 if you have the time. We didn’t, as we did the walk at sundown. Photos are hazy because it was polluted that day 😦

fullsizeoutput_2523

I remember the first time I went to Lamma Island in 2011. I did the walk from Sok Kwu Wan Pier to Yung Shue Wan in my flip flops. Well, it’s a paved road the whole way through anyway, passing a couple of beaches. Lots of dogs. Lots of people cycling through. Amazing vibe, especially when it’s sunny out. Lots of little artisan boutiques and the Lamma Beer stand calling out to you selling their craft brews.

Luckily, it was sunny that first weekend of January. So sunny I was wearing my bikini to hike that Saturday…

img_3008

Can you believe it’s winter? Pak Kok Tsuen Pier (To Aberdeen / Yung Shue Wan)

Yung Shue Wan Leg: Charming village vibe

3.1km, Easy, 45min

screen-shot-2017-01-24-at-1-47-20-pm

This is the less impressive section of the Lamma Island Family Trail, but still nice to get out and walk. If you’re in the area, why not, but I wouldn’t come out here just to do this.

img_2998

Pine tree standing out like a sore thumb

img_3031

Someone left all these books just stacked by the roadside

img_8198

Small beach on West Lamma Channel

Well, wasn’t that nice? 🙂 Let me know if you end up doing the hike, would love to hear all about it in the comments section below. 🙂

Don’t forget to follow me on IG @morenatravels and like HKFiles on Facebook!

Always,

julienne

2 thoughts on “Hiking Lamma Island: Hong Kong Staycation, Secret Beaches

Leave a Reply

