Goodbye Hong Kong?

Writing to you all the way from where I am now – sunny Spain. I’ve been contemplating a move for a while now, and while it’s not permanent, it very well may be depending on several circumstances. Should I return to the fragrant harbour or not? What do you think?

Granada

Granada

After being down and disillusioned for a while in Hong Kong, I thought leaving for a time would be healthy for me. To help me regain my soul, dramatically speaking. And Spain has proven to be a balm – a country almost the total opposite of Hong Kong, where people take long siestas in the middle of the day, where bankers stop working at 2pm (gasp!), where life is nowhere near about the money but about passion, happiness, love, enjoyment…

Barcelonetta

Barcelonetta

On the other hand I’m also beginning to appreciate Hong Kong from afar. Especially the kind of people I would meet there (ironically, also the one thing that drove me away). All intelligent, successful, ambitious… But in Spain, humbler yet happy, and so many good looking people who just don’t realize it! And men who can dance!Β I love it πŸ˜‰

Alhambra

Alhambra

I wish I could move to Spain, honestly, but the economy and job market here is terrible. Not to mention the fact that I need to actually speak Spanish first before even considering getting a job here. But that’s all part of the plan. I’ll be back in Asia by July 10 (boo hoo!) and will probably beΒ moving to Tokyo in August (or back to Hong Kong, who knows?!)

Alcazar, Cordoba

Alcazar, Cordoba

SoΒ don’t miss me too much – I won’t let you. I’ve got a lot of long overdue Hong Kong posts PLUS I’ll most probably be back by next year at the latestΒ πŸ˜‰ Keep updated by following me on Instagram or on my new blog Morena Travels. πŸ™‚

Big kisses from Madrid xx

julienne

9 thoughts on “Goodbye Hong Kong?

    • Yeni R says:

      Thank you!! oh wow you’re so lucky, Granada is magical ❀ It's been sunny almost everyday since the day I got here, weather couldn't be more perfect. I'm getting spoiled…

      Like

  1. wengyan92 says:

    Wow! Spain sounds awesome! Totally get what you mean about the kind of people in HK though. Plus HK is just way too stressful to settle down long term. I plan to move away pretty much as soon as my PhD is finished XD.

    Like

    • Yeni R says:

      Cool! Where are you thinking? πŸ™‚ True, HK is not for everyone. But I guess you can mould your life in HK to be UN-stressful… it’s a choice! Although easier said than done, I know of a few people who have done it

      Like

      • wengyan92 says:

        Well I plan to move back to the UK once PhD is over, but then after that maybe Canada or US. Depends where my boyfriend wants to go and where we can both get jobs.
        I think I would only stay in HK if I get a high enough salary to have a nice big apartment and a car… but I don’t think I can do that in HK that easily.

        Like

  2. Amanda (@mandarkc) says:

    Just found your blog! I felt that way about Hong Kong, although without the racism (I know what you’re talking about though, because I get it in London instead!), last year. I was working here, and had only just graduated from uni in the UK. My friends were all back in London, and very few of my friends were left.

    But then I went back to London this year, and found myself disliking it most of the time. I can’t help but agree with your pros on HK (the blog post with reasons to return). I think I’ll be back in HK in my old job for a few years before deciding if i want to go work in other countries!

    Have fun travelling! Spain is gorgeous! It’s probably too late to say this, but you definitely have to visit Lisbon! Especially Sintra. For the touristy stuff-it’s a seriously tourist-catered city, but so gorgeous!

    Like

    • Yeni R says:

      You mean you get racism in London? Crazy I thought the UK was super sensitive to that topic! What did you dislike about London? I have many friends who moved or will move there.

      And thanks! Yes I did visit Lisbon and Sintra, but didn’t have enough time to fully absorb it all! Amazing 😍

      Like

Leave a Reply

