Juices and Detox: Dieting in Hong Kong

IMG_4896

Brazilian Nut Boost from Mr. Green Juice

I know I’m wayyy behind trend with this. It took me so long to get to this post, after trying a few different juices in town. Finally, I’ve made up my mind.

To cut the long story short, here’s my verdict on Juice Detoxes:

  1. They’re good for you blah blah blah. But I just can’t do it. It’s not for me.
    • First of all, I don’t like the taste of half or most of them. I only finish whatever juices taste good to me, which is like 5%.
    • Secondly, I get so hungry by afternoon that by evening I give up and binge eat. Which defeats the whole purpose of diet/detox.
  2. Nut mylks are my newfound love. They taste sooo good.
  3. Out of all the juices I’ve tried in HK, Mr. Green Juice is the tastiest (but it’s also one of the priciest). I’ve tried Pure Swell, Pressed, Nood, Veggie Boys (the cheapest option + good and fibrous but again I’m just so bad at drinking super green/healthy stuff. Can’t finish a single one.) … the list goes on
  4. I may not be able to do a full detox (not even 1 day) but I can and do replace some meals with juices. Breakfast, usually. The lemon-y ones are supposed to flush out toxins from your system.
Enjoying my nut mylks at work (from Mr Green Juice)

Enjoying my nut mylks at work (from Mr Green Juice)

So I got into some kind of detox/diet craze over the summer and lost around 10lbs., which I am super happy about btw – no more sucking in of the stomach when I wear tight clothes.

To share, these habits worked for me:

  1. Soup dinners on week nights. Find the good places in town with soup and have it for dinner. I recommend the Fish Soup in La Crêperie Sheung Wan or the good variety they have at Oola. Try not to get ones that are too creamy, because then you’d just be drinking fat.
  2. Cut back on the sugars and carbs. That means no more chocolate bars and Marks & Spencer dessert pots.
  3. Running is the best way to burn fat. But you have to do it for at least 15-30 minutes without stopping. I recommend Bowen Road or the Quarry Bay Promenade. Or The Peak, if you’re willing to travel that far. Now that it’s autumn I’m switching to hiking.
  4. Eat more fish, less meat. The best is to stick to sashimi and sushi.
  5. Eat more greens (fiber), less pasta and rice.
  6. I went to yoga 3 or 4 times a week for a few months last summer. I’ll get back to it in December.
  7. Cut out the fat in any food on your plate, especially in bacon, duck/goose, chicken, beef, etc. Fish fat is okay though. And olive oil…
  8. I never drink milk tea or anything too sweet nowadays. Over the summer I’ve weaned myself off the sugar addiction that I used to have – now it’s just water, juice or milk. No more iced tea or Fanta and that sugary shit which I’ve realized is so bad for you.
  9. Less fried food, more raw/steamed/boiled
IMG_4912

One bottle of Mr Green Juice contains over 1kg of raw organic produce. Drinking raw juice is the easiest way for the body to assimilate essential enzymes and vitamins. No additive, water or preservation techniques applied.

After that slightly hypocritical list, I have to make the disclaimer that I am no longer on a ‘strict’ diet and usually eat whatever I like.

xx

julienne

One thought on “Juices and Detox: Dieting in Hong Kong

Leave a Reply

