Fitness Connection @ Sheraton Macao with Ella Magers

Last Saturday, this woman helped me to kill my body:

…in a good way, of course. It is now Wednesday and I’m still sore from what she made us do in her workshop at Sheraton Macao 4 days ago.

Last month, Sheraton Macao invited me to try out their new programme called “Fitness Connection @ Sheraton Macao”. At first I didn’t accept, but after a couple of weeks thinking about it, I thought, why not? I’ve been wanting to get fit. I’ve been doing yoga around 3 times a week. I can do it, I can keep up. Besides, I’ve been wanting to watch House of Dancing Water for years now, and this is my chance (I’ll save that for another post).

So to Macau I went.

10am and I was wandering around Sheraton after breakfast, getting lost in the huge hotel/entertainment complex. It’s the biggest Sheraton in the world, apparently. I finally got to the workshop at around 10.30: it was just starting and in front was this super fit, tanned, blonde woman talking about how she became a vegan and has been for around a decade now. She’s been a vegetarian since age 7.

IMG_1307

Ella giving her talk, I was somewhere there on the right

My journey started with an “aha” moment in third grade when I connected my love of animals to the food on my plate and decided never to eat meat again.

– Ella Magers

She was right about us being so disconnected from our food source nowadays. But although I will try to eat more greens (at least 50% of your plate should be green), I just can’t bear the thought of giving up meat. Definitely I can try to eliminate pork from my diet though, but beef, I love.

Throughout the day, her talks made me more and more conscious (paranoid) about the food I was eating, and since Saturday I have been freaking out about the things coming into my system. The one thing that stuck in my mind was the ’empty calories’ concept, which made me realize that most of the food I eat doesn’t even really give me nutrition. They’re empty. I never thought I’d be that kind of person as (1) I hate calorie-counters and (2) I LOVE yummy food, especially DESSERT.

Over the last years I’ve realized how bad the Filipino diet is and that’s why Filipinos are so fat.

food we should be eating instead of cookies

What makes it really hard for me is that healthy food is expensive in Hong Kong. And all the cheap food here is bad for you. On Monday I ate a banana for breakfast and then at 5pm finally had lunch because I didn’t know where to eat and didn’t want to eat shit food, which is everywhere. Ended up going to Le Creperie on Jervois Street (Sheung Wan) and had their absolutely delicious fish soup (I know, doesn’t sound like the best soup ever but trust me it’s good) and salad for late lunch.

Anyway, back to Fitness Connection. I looked at my neighbours and thought, they don’t look any fitter than me. I won’t be the worst here… right?

Wrong.

I was the first to drop my 5lb weights during the Functional Training Session.

IMG_1292

When she said ‘do burpees’ I was like, ‘what’s a burpee?’

this is a burpee

I could barely make myself do a decent push-up.

Suffice to say, it was pretty embarrassing. The older Macanese tai tai woman beside me was even beating me. But you know what? I think the Italian guy at the back was dying even more, I just couldn’t see him that well…

I don’t regret it. Actually I feel really enriched from what I learned during the session and extra motivated to get fit and healthy. Even if that means no more dessert pots from Marks & Spencer (I really love their raspberry jam sponge pudding and salted caramel pot, cry. Cheat days? heh).

IMG_1300

more from the workshop

The most valuable things I learned at the event:

  • the best way to burn stored fat is to do cardio in the morning on an empty stomach
  • the darker the greens are, the more nutrients
  • Eat slowly and stop when you’re 80% full
  • Stop eating ’empty calories’ and unnecessary food!

IMG_1352

Our schedule for that day:

Instructor: Ella Magers

Venue: Ballroom Almaty 6001 – 6002, 5th Floor, Sheraton Macao Hotel, Cotai Central

Morning Session: Defining Fitness
Time Workshop Contents
10:00 – 10:45 Introduction – Ella’s Story and Defining Fitness; The 3 Realms of Knowledge; Setting Yourself Up for Success
10:34 – 11:30 Full Body Functional Training Session
11:30 – 11:45 15 min break
11:45 – 12:15 Plant-Based Diet: Nutrition Basics
12:15 – 13:00 Food Demonstration : Malaysian Tofu Salad / Sexy Fit Vegan™ Signature Super Shake – this was so good!
13:00 – 14:00 Color Your Plate ™ lunch
14:00 – 15:00 Quiet time and rest
Afternoon Session: Vegan Lifestyle for Health, Happiness & a Sexy Fit Midsection
15:00 – 16:00 Creating a Healthy Vegan Lifestyle and Sexy Fit Midsection
16:00 – 16:45 “Exercise You Can Do Anywhere” Body Weight Training Session
16:45 – 17:00 15 min break
17:00 – 18:00 Practical Tips for Changing Dietary & Exercise Habits
18:00 – 19:00 Food Demonstration : Wasabi Soba Noodle Salad / Raw Coconut Curry Carrot Soup / Chocolate-Banana Chia Seed Pudding
19:15 Dinner 

What is “Color Your Plate” ?

A  “Nutrition Color Coded” menu at Sheraton following these principles:

Sheraton Fitness_CYP Fridge_Market Fruits and Berries_Horizontal 1

Finally, the important question: will this last? Will I be able to keep myself on a healthy diet and exercise program? We will see. It’s a slow process but I will get there! 🙂 Let’s get fit!!

Leave a Reply

