Fekkai Product Launch & Review: Your best hair day

Problem: Frizzy, scratchy, dry hair.

Proposed Solution: Fekkai products

Click here to see my review of 8 products for frizzy hair.

Just got back from Fekkai’s product launch in The French Window, IFC, Central HK. Prior to the event, I had no idea what Fekkai was all about, but thought I’d share it with you now that I do. It’s basically a luxury hair care brand founded by the French master hair stylist Frederic Fekkai (and before you assume he is gay – he is not. He has a wife and kids). 

Frederic Fekkai was born and raised in Aix-en-Provence, France to Egyptian father and Vietnamese mother

Procter & Gamble acquired the brand in 2008, but to this day its products are not widely available around the conglomerate’s markets. In Hong Kong, Fekkai products can only be found at Joyce Beauty, which is a shame because I think it’s an amazing brand… I know, it’s only been a few hours since I’ve actually discovered it, but after sampling the serum and seeing the stylists in action at the event, I’m well impressed.

IMG_2387

Fekkai’s philosophy is all about natural elegance and ‘perfect imperfection’ – think flawlessly messy, effortless ‘dos. My favourite looks include:

‘The Virginie’

‘The Penelope’

‘The Sophie’

I’ve always been a fan of these ‘naturally messy but beautiful’ looks, but unfortunately my own mane is a scraggly, unbecoming mess:

1

damaged by colouring, and just naturally coarse, I guess :(

damaged by colouring, and just naturally dry and coarse 😦

And that’s thanks to no lack of effort on my part – I’ve invested thousands and thousands of dollars in getting my hair to look good. I’ve tried all different kinds of serums, treatments (hot oils, kerastase treatment, Brazilian blowout…) – you name it, I’ve done it. I think my greatest achievement may have been to get rid of most of my split ends, but overall the look is still far from ideal…

can you say ‘buhaghag’? must I always look like this?

You have to admit, I’m in need of a drastic solution. Thanks to Fekkai, I’m going to have a chance to explore these products and see if they will transform my hair:

IMG_2391 IMG_2392

Here are the official product shots:

Fekkai Apple Cider Shampoo

Fekkai Apple Cider Shampoo (approx HK$305.50)

Fekkai Brilliant Glossing Cream

Fekkai Brilliant Glossing Cream (approx HK$235.00)

Fekkai PrX Reparatives Elixir Bottle (Mending Oil) - I think this is what I need the most

Fekkai PrX Reparatives Elixir Bottle (Mending Oil) – I think this is what will make all the difference for me

I’ll make sure to update you with the results after a couple of months with Fekkai! 😉

x

Leave a Reply

