2014: New Year’s Resolutions

Happy New Year Everybody!

Let me start the 2014 edition of this blog with a few New Year’s Resolutions:

  1. Getting fit and toned : At this point I can’t say with confidence that I can jog 5k without a break. Actually, not even 3k. I don’t know about you, but I think that’s pretty pathetic.  Image(These are my friends Annie and Jam hitting the gym) If I don’t get in shape it at the age of 25, then when the f* will it ever happen, right?!! So I need to seriously do it this year – healthy eating, exercise 5x a week. I may be skinny, but never in my life have I been sporty or exercised on a regular basis. And it’s not fun getting tired all the time, before everyone else does, whenever I do some semblance of physical activity. Surfing, hiking, swimming… I feel like I’m always dragging everyone back. It’s inhibiting and it’s gonna change.  // 2013 was a decent start with more regular yoga and dance classes, but I think I need to up the ante in 2014. I’m off to a good start after losing around 2kgs over the holidays thanks to being apart (3 weeks) from a doting boyfriend who feeds me all the time. He was shocked to see me when we met up in Bangkok for New Year’s. Image(with James at Ayutthaya 🙂 ) So anyway. This resolution involves me finding the right gym/studio to join this year with my old one expiring in February. You might be seeing a post relating my Hong Kong gym/studio shopping experience soon. Suggestions and recommendations welcome!
  2. Explore all Hiking Trails in Hong Kong : ImageI’m dead set on doing this, because (a) I enjoy hiking, (b) it conveniently incorporates resolution #1, and (c) I have great hiking partners who are just as keen on this as I am. So it’s happening. The bulk of it, though, will have to happen NOW (January-May) before hiking season is over and it either starts to rain or becomes excruciatingly hot and unbearable. Or I guess when the season resumes from October-December. If I am still in Hong Kong.
  3. Read more books : From the top of my head, the titles I was able to go through in 2013 were: Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s Love in the Time of CholeraThe Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card, and Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray. FOUR BOOKS?! That’s all I can manage in 1 year?! Come on. Titles I am going to finish this year: His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman (an ambitious one), Burmese Days by George Orwell, Disgrace by J. M. Coetzee, and more.
  4. Advance my career : Get promoted. Get a new job. In that order.

Actually, that’s it for my 2014 resolutions. Keeping it short and simple so that I can focus on achieving those goals. Other life goals, however, include learning a new language (Spanish and then Mandarin), becoming a salsa and flamenco master, backpacking around the world, etc…

x

Leave a Reply

