Fashion Review: Marc Jacobs A/W 2013

So I just got the press pack for Marc Jacobs’ Autumn/Winter 2013 Collection.

What it is:

  • a reinterpretation of 1970s retro
  • inspired by paintings of artist Otto Dix, a famous German New Objectivist
  • replaces the usual bold palette with dark tones like burgundy, deep blue, and deep green
  • Silk and sleek fabrics

I only covered the women’s collection here, but you can shoot me a message/comment if you want looks from the men’s collection.

What I love:

Printed Dresses

FW13_Marc by Marc Jacobs_01

specially designed geometric pattern “Etta”/”Luna Patchwork”

FW13_Marc by Marc Jacobs_31

specially designed floral pattern “Marieka Tulip”

FW13_Marc by Marc Jacobs_37 FW13_Marc by Marc Jacobs_40

…and Plain Dresses

FW13_Marc by Marc Jacobs_47

I love the effect of the shorter dress under the coat

FW13_Marc by Marc Jacobs_21

I really need to get myself one of these…

Good separates to mix up your wardrobe

FW13_Marc by Marc Jacobs_27

What I didn’t like:

unflattering cuts. I know it's supposed to be 'retro 70s' but... I wouldn't.

unflattering cuts. I know it’s supposed to be ‘retro 70s’ but… I wouldn’t.

unwearable looks

unwearable looks

FW13_Marc by Marc Jacobs_33

maybe I’m too girly/not statuesque enough for outfits like this. oh, and I’d probably look really ugly with this hairdo…

really awful shoe collection

really awful shoe collection. actually, this isn’t even bad compared to the others…

FW13 Marc By Marc Jacobs HKD2,990..

My Accessories Wish List:

FW13 Marc By Marc Jacobs GET A TRIP - EMMA HKD4,390 (BLACK)

FW13 Marc By Marc Jacobs GET A TRIP – EMMA HKD4,390 (BLACK)

FW13 Marc By Marc Jacobs GOODBYE COLUMBUS - BB HKD5,090 (ROOTBEER)

FW13 Marc By Marc Jacobs GOODBYE COLUMBUS – BB HKD5,090 (ROOTBEER)

FW13 Marc By Marc Jacobs GET A TRIP - EMMA HKD4,390 (RED CLAY)

FW13 Marc By Marc Jacobs GET A TRIP – EMMA HKD4,390 (RED CLAY)

FW13 Marc By Marc Jacobs LETTERPRESS - LETTERPRESS BANGLE HKD550 (ARGENTO)

FW13 Marc By Marc Jacobs LETTERPRESS – LETTERPRESS BANGLE HKD550 (ARGENTO)

FW13 Marc Jacobs PRINCE FLIGHT - THE JOE HKD14,900 (TRUFFLE)

FW13 Marc Jacobs PRINCE FLIGHT – THE JOE HKD14,900 (TRUFFLE)

Shop Marc Jacobs Hong Kong:

  • Pacific Place, Admiralty
  • The Landmark, Central
  • Times Square, Causeway Bay
  • Harbour City, TST
  • Festival Walk, Kowloon Tong
  • New Town Plaza, Sha Tin
  • SOGO, Causeway Bay
  • Lane Crawford, IFC Central

 

julienne

Leave a Reply

