The Working Lunch Series: Jumbo Kingdom (Aberdeen)

Went here for an assignment last month, would be great for a day out as you get to dine with a sea view. I think we ate at the Jumbo dining area, which is the traditional 1980’s-style one (I prefer al fresco, so wasn’t too happy getting stuck in the air-conditioned hall). But I hear Top Deck (another section) is more modern and has a great open-air view.

I went there on a weekday, so I’m not sure how crowded it gets on weekends, but for lunch on a Thursday you’ll definitely have space and room to breathe.

How to Get There: Taxi or bus to either the Shum Wan or Aberdeen Ferry Piers. From there you can take a free shuttle boat to the floating restaurant.

IMG_6063

the free shuttle boat

IMG_6093

the view

IMG_6068

the first dish: Drunken Shrimp. The shrimp were placed in this thing, and then when they poured the Chinese wine into it, they started having seizures until they died. Seemed like a painful death to me, but the manager said they were happy because they were drunk… which I could hardly believe, I can imagine it would be more like drowning in acid

IMG_6078

IMG_6076

IMG_6083

the final product

the final product: Flamed Drunken Shrimp

IMG_6088

I thought this was soup. AGAIN. I swear I didn’t drink it though… (for the clueless, you dip your fingers in this after peeling of the shrimp shell)

IMG_6089

IMG_6091

THE best dish for me. Seriously, if you order anything, order this. It’s the typhoon-shelter crab or Sauteed Fresh Crab with Garlic and Chili. It’s mild to medium spicy, trust me I can’t handle anything too spicy but this was fantastic!

Actually we had other dishes (the crab meat was served separately with strawberries as I recall – yum) including Stone Pot Szechuan style garoupa or something like that, but I just feel like talking about the best bits – the abovementioned.

IMG_6067

And there you have my personal review for Jumbo Kingdom! I’d probably do this once or twice for the experience, and for special occasions.

Visit http://www.jumbo.com.hk/eng/main.php for more information!

xx

julienne

Leave a Reply

