the Brunch Series: Green at Hotel Icon (East Tsim Sha Tsui)

If you’re looking for a top quality, reasonably-priced brunch set (around HK$270 for 4 courses) in a naturally-lit and spacious setting, then this is it.

Image

three-story glass windows add to the roomy feel

Last Sunday my friends and I found ourselves running out of options for brunch places in Tsim Sha Tsui. Almost every place we called was fully booked and we were near-starving. We decided to take a chance on an internet search result that seemed promising: Green at the lobby of Hotel Icon.

Image

first plate of jamon serrano and poached egg

Not many people know about Green, so we were able to book a table for six last minute, and were rewarded with a delectable meal!

Unfortunately, I was ravenous at this point and neglected to take photos of the menu or of the main dishes, but I promise next time I won’t be so careless.

vertical garden on the wall designed by world-famous botanist Patrick Blanc

vertical garden on the wall designed by world-famous botanist Patrick Blanc

I think the winning dish was the lobster appetizer (you can choose to have it grilled or cooked in other ways), followed by my main course of pan-seared salmon. My friends had the rib-eye steak, but after trying theirs, I was happy with my own plate (and that says a lot if you consider my notorious food envy. I nearly cried with regret when everyone was served lobster and I got a chicken Caesar’s salad for the first course…)

Image

Chinese characters falling from the ceiling

A compelling reason to pay Green a visit as well – the best cake I’ve tasted in Hong Kong. And I take my cakes seriously. The only other cake I like in Hong Kong is Ms. B’s ‘Better Than Sex.’

Image

raspberry chocolate dome, THE best cake I’ve tasted in Hong Kong – neither my Irish nor Portugese friend said they particularly liked raspberry, but they concurred that this was absolutely delicious

Image

mango cheesecake dome, with real fresh bits of fruit inside. OH YUM

Image

green tea cupcake. meh.

Image

durian cupcake, I think D didn’t like it

Brunch Served until 3pm. Green, Lobby, Hotel Icon, 17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, +852 3400 1300, http://www.hotel-icon.com

julienne

2 thoughts on “the Brunch Series: Green at Hotel Icon (East Tsim Sha Tsui)

  1. aurumeve says:

    Food looks great, and it’s interesting how so many places all around the world look similar! The atrium looks very much like the Lincoln Center Atrium in NYC !
    AurumEve.com ~ Global Jewelry

    Like

Leave a Reply

